2019 Conference Schedule

Smoky Hill Trail Association 13th Annual Conference 
October 18, 19 and 20, 2019
Fort Wallace, Kansas

Friday, October 18

Noon MST/1:00 CST 
           Welcome by Jayne Humphrey Pearce, President, Fort Wallace Memorial Association
           Open Conference:  Ken Cole, President, Smoky Hill Trail Association  

12:30 MST/1:30 CST   
           Pick Up Box Lunches and Board Bus for Tour led by Mike Baughn to
           German Family Massacre Site and Smoky Valley Ranch

5:00 MST/6:00 CST Return to Museum/Supper Served

6:00 MST/7:00 CST Fort Wallace Cemetery Tour

7:00 MST/8:00 CST Smoky Hill Trail Association Board Meeting

Saturday, October 19

8:00 am MST/9:00 CST Registration and Opening Remarks Ken Cole

8:15 am MST/9:15 CST Leo Oliva, Fort Wallace

9:15 am MST/10:15 CST Deb Goodrich, Fort Wallace Personalities

10:15 am MST     BREAK

10:30 am MST/11:30 CST David Harrington, Col Carpenter

11:30 am MST/ 12:30 CST Christopher Gabel, A Transcontinental Tragedy

12:30 pm MST    LUNCH served at Museum2:00 pm MST/3:00 CST Brenda Culbertson, Pawnee and Stars

3:00 MST             BREAK

3:15 pm MST/4:15 CST Pauline Sharp, Lucy Eads-First Woman to Lead
             the Kaw Nation

4:15 pm MST/5:15 CST Doug Scott

5:15 MST             BREAK

5:15 MST/6:15 CST Discussion/Questions/Socializing  

6:00 MST/7:00 CST Banquet/Awards/Annual Meeting/Guest Speaker Mike
         Everhart will speak on the life of Dr. Theophilus Turner

Sunday, October 20

8:00 am MST/ 9:00 am CST Introductory Remarks/Final Announcements

8:15 am MST/9:15 am CST Ken Fields, White Deer Land Office Museum

10:15 am MST/11:15am CST Sharing the German Family Story

         Nikki Jaunken Shandy, German Family Descendant and Filmmaker
         Ken Spurgeon

12:15pm MST/1:15 pm CST D. K. Clark, Fort Wallace in context of the Plains War 


Conference Adjourned